This one time, at band camp…

Welcome to my first blog and my first blog post! 

To start off, I’d thought I’d help you form a correct first impression of what this blog will be about.  Because the general public forms impressions of band that are often incorrect.

For example, how many times have you told someone you were in band, and their immediate response is, “This one time, at band camp…”?  If you don’t know what I’m talking about, this is a quote from American Pie.  After the ellipses comes something obscene the speaker did with her flute at band camp.  I’ve never even seen the movie (is that bad?) but all I know is that the majority of my generation thinks this is what marching band means:

"This one time, at band camp..."

Most of us (hopefully) do not fit the American Pie stereotype.  Geez, most of us probably have never worn a shirt that says “Band Camp” on it!  Band Camp (or Early Week as we call it at Maryland) is a week or two of hard work, heat, and days so long that even when you’re sleeping you feel like you never escape from rehearsal.  It’s tiring, but it brings people together in the way that only hundreds of roll steps and hours of repetition of the same three songs can.

Take Note is for band lovers.  In the fall, it will probably be especially for marching band lovers.  Take a break after practice and connect with people who are just like you!  (And don’t, er, have a relationship with their flutes…)

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to This one time, at band camp…

  1. Elliott says:

    I think you’re underestimating the power of band to create “one time at band camp” stories 😛

  2. Corie says:

    Umm Lisa, you forgot about the OBOE scene in American Pie: Band Camp! I highly recommend you watch that movie…it’s pretty disturbing.

    But anyway, you’re absolutely right, and it’s hilarious. Can’t wait to read more ridiculous band stories!!

  3. Matt Loewen says:

    I have seen AMERICAN PIE (and it’s a good movie), but that’s not the first thing I think of when I think “marching band”. The first thing I think of is, “…It’s too hot out here…” Which is why I’m no longer in marching band 😛

    But the more general word, “band”, brings up lots of happy memories–and as a person who is more than musically inclined, I’ll take those any day 🙂

  4. Ethan says:

    Lisa! Its Becca, not Ethan. This is great!!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

