Tube-y Tuesday

There are some things in my life I have to come to terms with.

For one, by being in marching band, the world categorizes me as a nerd.  I love people–normal people–in band so much, that sometimes I forget that.  However, this worldwide belief became very evident when my FIRST-EVER hits from Google (yes, I can see where people come from to get to my page) were from people who typed “nerd girl Halloween costume” into the search engine.

Did I post at ALL about how to pull off a cute “nerd girl Halloween costume”?  No.  My roommates and I dressed up as “Army Bratz” for Halloween.  Have I ever called myself a nerd?  No.  We don’t use that kind of language here.  The only way WordPress might have possibly tracked that is from a link to a link of a picture of a nerdy girl I posted a few days ago.  But come on, let’s face it.  Even this giant computer system sees the words “marching band” posted all over and makes the synonym “nerd”.

The other thing I came to terms with is the fact that I am a dancing GODDESS.  All other previous data in my life has pointed otherwise (being too tall to get on my friends’ levels in those girl circles at dances; the “Cotton Eye Joe” being my favorite part of any function; etc.).  However, when we were practicing the THRILLER dance for our show this past Saturday, I was told that I was a “GODDESS!”  This is news to me, but something I am of course happy to accept.

So how does this all connect?  Well I sort of already gave it away…the Mighty Sound of Maryland performed a Michael Jackson show on Saturday, with a “Thriller” finale, complete with the whole band doing a near-authentic dance.  And guess what?  When we heard that crowd screaming for us, we did NOT feel like nerds.

We felt like goddesses.

This entry was posted in marching band. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Tube-y Tuesday

  1. Tiki Hut says:

    awwww! Truly touching, Lisa.

Leave a Reply

